The Timeline of Lurrvee: Part III

We are back for some more lurrvee story-telling. If you have no idea what I’m talking about you can see Part 1 HERE and Part Deux HERE.

Even though only four people voted on the last post (two of whom are related to me…), I’ve decided to write about option 4: When we went to visit my sister at college, and Steve brought a stranger to the party. (Don’t worry, I’ll save the others for a rainy day.)The Timeline of Lurrvee- Part III

Now, I would like to begin this story by saying Rachel was not Steve’s biggest fan at this point in our relationship. Steve and I had been dating for about six months, and we’d moved in together. (Yep. We moved in together after five months of dating. Have I not mentioned that before?) And my darling sister, Rachel, felt like Steve was stealing me away from her (because no matter how much she denies it, she lobes her big sister).

Coincidentally, Steve and Rachel went to the same college, so Steve was very excited about going down to visit. He decided he was going to pretend to be a college student while we were there. I believe his “name” was Greg, and he was a sociology major.

Within five minutes of our arrival, we found Steve lounging across the top of Rachel’s couch.

2013-04-20 11.19.43

“Wow, I really wish Steve would make himself comfortable,” Rachel said.

Rachel and I started getting ready for our day of adventures; there was a big event that weekend, kind of like a Welcome Spring type of thing, I think. We had tank tops made that said “DRINK, DRANK, DRUNK” on the back. (Classy, I know.)

After a few minutes, Steve came bursting into the apartment (we didn’t know he’d left it), with a boy.

“Rachel!” the boy said, waving a bottle of suspicious-looking alcohol. “What are you doing today?” He was a skinny boy, wearing homemade jorts, a man tank, and sunglasses.

Rachel looked at me with “Oh, no. This is not good,” in her eyes.

“Hi Roger,” she said. (I don’t remember the boy’s name. I’m going to call him Roger.) “Where did you come from?” She narrowed her eyes at Steve.

“Well, I was roaming down the hall to see if anyone was ready to rock yet!” He smiled and raised his eyebrows at us. “Who’s this?” He pointed his bottle of booze at me.

“I’m Becca,” I said, reaching out to shake his hand.

“Awesome. This is your boyfriend?” He jerked his head in Steve’s direction.

“Yep,” I nodded.

“Who wants shots?” Roger asked, raising the bottle up above his head.

“What is that?” I asked, nervous about the answer.

“It’s Burnett’s!” Steve exclaimed excitedly. “We used to drink this all the time! It’s disgusting!”

burnetts

Avoid at all costs.

I looked at Rachel. She shrugged and said, “Free shots.” Typical college student.

We did the shots. They were indeed disgusting. Rachel then sort of shuffled Roger out, telling him we’d maybe see him later.

“Who was that boy?” I asked once the door was safely closed.

“Ugh,” Rachel rolled her eyes. “He’s our neighbor. I mean, he’s nice and all, but he’s just super annoying.”

We both looked pointedly at Steve.

“I’m sorry!” He threw his hands up in the air. “I saw Burnett’s, and I was intrigued.” Rachel may have then punched him on the arm.

We finished getting ready, and left to meet a couple of Rachel’s friends. We stopped at a liquor store on our way, and Steve insisted upon drinking Busch Light, so that we “looked like real college students.” Steve then realized he had forgotten his (old) school ID in the car.

“I have to go back and get it!” he said.

“No,” Rachel and I said in unison.

He tried to argue with us for about thirty seconds before he realized it was futile. Then he put the case of beer up on his shoulder and stormed off ahead of us.

Despite this minor temper tantrum, Steve is a super friendly dude. Get a few drinks in him, and he may just be your new best friend. As we approached the party apartment, Steve started talking to this group of three or four guys he found walking down the street.

What were they talking about? No idea.

We (Rachel and I, and the rest of the people we were with) started heading towards the stairs leading to the apartment. Steve continued talking to his new friends.

I called after him to hurry up, and we went upstairs to the party. A few minutes later, we heard people excitedly shouting in the hallway. I looked around and didn’t see Steve. I popped my head out of the door.

Yep. It was Steve, with the group of strangers, walking up the hallway to the party.

Steve and his new friends came into the apartment, and the girl who lived there looked at them with an expression that clearly said, “Who the fuck are you?”

“Who invited these guys?” she asked, looking to her friends.

“I did!” Steve walked over to the girl and shook her hand. “Hey. I’m Greg. I’m a sociology major.”

“No he’s not!” I said, hopping over. “This is my boyfriend, Steve, and he brought some strangers to your party. I’m very sorry.”

She laughed. “It’s fine, as long as they go get more beer because we’re probably going to run out. Especially if we start doing beer bongs.” She pointed to the beer bong in one of the stranger’s hands, then turned to talk to someone she actually knew.

“Dude! You’re a stranger here! You can’t also bring strangers to the party!” I whisper-yelled at him, hitting him on the arm as I did so.

“What?” he asked, looking exasperated. “They’re cool! They brought that beer bong!” Steve’s new BFF was holding up the beer bong, looking at him suggestively.

Luckily, these strangers were normal enough, didn’t steal anything (although they may have broken something, if memory serves), and were so kind as to capture these lovely moments seen below:

Like I said before, Steve is a friendly dude, and people love him. And even though he brought strangers to her friend’s party, after this visit Rachel decided Steve was okay in her book.

2013-04-20 13.43.23

Two of my favorite humans on this planet.

In fact, in her maid of honor speech at our wedding, Rachel said the following about her “Big Bro” (as Steve likes to call himself):

Becca and Steve started dating when I was in college, and I can’t say that I was a huge fan of Steve stealing, or what I saw as stealing, my time with my sister… Steve and Becca came to visit me at [college], and I finally got what the hype was all about. Steve made himself comfortable by lounging out on my futon, bringing random strangers to my friend’s apartment, and telling everyone he was a sophomore sociology major, which Becca then followed with, “No he’s not!!” Steve is a great guy with a great sense of humor, he is smart, kind, generous, up for anything, and most importantly, so weird, which is exactly what my sister needs… I’m not a lovey dovey person, and this is probably some of the nicest things most of you have ever heard me say, but I do believe these two are meant for each other…

But, more on that another day. 😉

6 thoughts on “The Timeline of Lurrvee: Part III

  1. Pingback: Sunshine Blogger Award | The Married Cat Lady

Thoughts? Do tell!

