An Interview with Emma B.

Hello dear readers,

As you may or may not know, I am currently writing a book. More specifically, a young adult novel about a thirteen year-old girl named Emma and her trials and tribulations as she navigates middle school, friendship, and of course, boys.

Back in April I set a goal for myself to finish the first draft of the book before my next birthday, and to write ten pages a week. I’ve been doing well so far; it’s been almost three months since I started, and I’m a little under 130 pages in.

Emma Interview

However, as of late, I feel like I’ve hit a wall. When I write I am literally forcing it out, and I’m not sure I still have the same grip on the character. I don’t want to not write at all though, so I thought I would interview Emma, to revisit her voice and her character. We did this sort of exercise in my creative writing class in college, and I’ve read about it in my novel-writing research as well, as a good way to develop/ get to know your character.

Additionally, a couple people have asked me to share some of my fiction writing, so here’s a little preview of my character, Emma Bishop.

(Questions are adapted from HERE, a post from Allison Maruska, and a list I still had from a creative writing class in college.)

– – –

Name: Emma Jane Bishop
Age: 13
Birthday: September 3rd 

1. Who are your parents?
Joanna and Roy Bishop. Mom works in a lawyer’s office. Dad is a carpenter. They like each other. It’s gross.

2. Do you have siblings? Do you get along?
I have a little sister named Marie. She’s nine. She tries to act older than she is to try and keep up with me and my friends. It doesn’t work. 

3. Do you have any nicknames?
Not really. My name’s pretty short, so people just usually call me Emma or Em.

4. Where do you live?
Ugh, a super boring, suburban town. There’s like 50 people here. Ok, there’s more than that, but I don’t know the exact number… 

5. What is your favorite subject in school?
Ehhhh.. English I guess. It can be fun to write stories. I actually got really into our last writing assignment, which was an argumentative essay and presentation. My visual was pretty awesome.

6. What is your least favorite subject in school?
MATH. When am I ever going to use this stuff?? Like, seriously, y = mx + b? Whyyyyy?

7. Who are your best friends?
Ruby Jones and Cher Doyle. Ruby and I have been friends since we were in Kindergarten. She’s goofy, and confident, and she has a really big heart. She would do literally anything for her friends. Cher transferred to St. Lucy’s last year. She’s beautiful and honest even when it hurts. She can come off as kind of mean sometimes, but that’s just how she is.

8. Do you have any enemies?
Ugh, yes. Audrey Clarke. She thinks she’s so much better than everyone else, and walks around like she owns the school with her friend Zoe following in her shadow. And honestly, she can just be straight-up mean. But she’s tall and pretty, and so of course, she’s popular. 

9. What do you look like?
Um, well, I have brown hair to my shoulders. My eyes are a greenish-blue. I’m not tall, but I’m not super short either– I think I was 5’2″ the last time I went to the doctor. Umm… otherwise I’m just average-looking I guess… I get zits on my face and I have no boobs, but I’m not butt-ugly.

10. How would you describe yourself?
Hmmm… I guess I would say I’m friendly and positive. I like to laugh. I’m also sensitive, though. I tend to cry whenever I get upset about anything, even those animal abuse commercials.

11. What are you afraid of?
Spiders. Ew. With their legs and their eyes, and the crawling up the walls… *shudders* Ew.

12. What are you good at?
I’m a good listener, which I think makes me a good friend. I’m good with kids, too. I babysit on the weekends sometimes. Kids love me.

13. What is your favorite food?
Mmmmm… grilled cheese. Or pizza. Or ice cream! I don’t know, it’s too hard.

14. What kind of music do you like?
I LOVE the band Celsius!!!! They are SO amazing. They’re British, so they have those great accents, and they’re all beautiful, and their voices? OMG. Their music is sooooo good. Their new song, “I love my gurl” made me literally cry. James is my favorite. He’s the second lead singer, even though his voice is totally the best. 

15. What are your hobbies?
Hanging out with my friends, listening to music, babysitting, dancing in my room when no one can see me.

16. What is your favorite color?
Blue, but not the boring, regular blue. Blue like the sea– almost teal, but not all the way.

17. Do you have any pets?
I have a cat named Albus. He’s adorable, but he will only cuddle when he wants to. I’m his favorite in our family. 

18. What is the best way to spend the weekend?
With my friends.

19. What do you like best about yourself?
Umm… I’m nice to everyone? (Except Audrey.) And the color of my eyes.

20. What do you dislike about yourself?
My cheeks get red anytime I’m even a little embarrassed or nervous– especially around boys. It’s SO embarrassing, which then obviously makes it worse. -_-

21. What’s the best way to cheer you up?
Ice cream! Preferably cookie dough, with giant cookie dough chunks! Yummmmm.

22. What is your greatest fear?
Being alone. Like, forever.

23. What kind of clothes do you like to wear?
Well, most days I wear my school uniform, which is a plaid skirt and a white blouse. On the weekends, I like to wear fun socks! (My favorite pair has taco-cats on them.) I guess just whatever I like. My favorite shirt is white with little black hearts all over it.

24. What annoys you?
My sister. She’s always trying to come hang out with us when Cher and Ruby are over. And when teachers go over the same stuff in class over and over and over again. It’s so boring. And Audrey’s laugh.

25. What do you want to be when you grow up?
Maybe a vet. I love animals, but I think it’s a lot of college, plus I could never give a dog a shot. Maybe a photographer. I love taking pictures. Or maybe a preschool teacher. I love taking care of little kids.

– – –

So, there’s a little peek into Emma’s world. What do you think?

6 thoughts on “An Interview with Emma B.

  1. She sounds pretty cool. I think the taco-cat socks sealed the deal for me.
    Out of curiosity, do you use any particular method for choosing character names? or do you just choose names you like/dislike, depending on if the character is good/bad in the story?

    Liked by 2 people

    • Haha those socks are 👌🏽. Some names I choose based on their meaning, some hold other significance (for example, Ruby was originally inspired by one of my girlfriends, and her birthday is in July), and others I do just pick kind of randomly. Emma was one of a few I just brainstormed and picked from.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I sometimes have difficulty picking names for characters. I usually end up naming them after authors or characters from other books. Looking at their meanings sounds like a good idea though

        Liked by 1 person

      • It’s interesting too! I try to pick something about their personality I want to highlight. For example, I once had a character who was very loud and outgoing, so I named her Callie, short for Calliope, meaning beautiful voice.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Sounds like a good story, however, it sounds very deja-vu…like, I read something like it, recently. Hopefully, Emma and her friends will experience unique and exciting adventures nobody has been on before.

    Liked by 1 person

Thoughts? Do tell!

