Please hold your applause

You guys are never going to believe this, but I was nominated for two more blog “awards” (semi-) recently.

In August, I was nominated for the Blog Recognition Award by Debatably Datable‘s Meg, and just the other day, I was surprised with a nomination for the Liebster Award from Erin over at Unbound Roots.

Meg writes about navigating the dating world. She shares her experiences and feelings in a way that is honest and raw. Erin is passionate about the outdoors and creating roots and experiences that help us to bloom into our best selves.

Both of these ladies are just awesome, so go and check them out, like, now. I’ll wait here, it’s fine.

How very exciting, right? Now, I love stuff like this for a couple reasons: 1. it makes me feel warm and gooey inside that other bloggers think of me when nominating, and 2. I always loved answering those little questionnaire/ survey things that used to circulate on Facebook, back when the notes section existed.

So, when Erin messaged me about the Liebster, I decided I should probably combine the two– you know, two birds, one stone and all that.

Now, I’m usually a big rule-follower; however, I think in order to most effectively combine these two awards and keep you entertained, I’m going to have to break them juuuuuust a smidge.

Click the respective links to find the “official” rules for the Blog Recognition Award and the Liebster Award.

Erinโ€™s Ten Questions for her Nominees
(Erin’s first two questions are actually the same two I’m supposed to write about for the Blog Recognition, so that works out perfectly. (Way to go, Erin! ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

What inspired you to start blogging?
The start of The Married Cat Lady was actually very spur of the moment; last November I felt like the world could use a little more laughter (I still feel that way), so I plopped myself down on the couch and started writing, and I never looked back.

At the end of that very first post, I wrote, “In a world that seems to be filled with more hatred as the days go by, I hope that my awkward anecdotes and ramblings can bring joy, acceptance, and love into the world.”

If you could give a new blogger one tip, what would it be?ย 
(I’m going to give two tips because that’s what the Blog Recognition asks for.)

I’m no pro blogger; there are days where only one or two people pop by (and one of them is probably me), so take my advice with a grain of salt.

  1. Make friends – Blogging is so much more fun when you have blog-friends. I’ve met so many amazing people through the blogging community, and the amount of support and encouragement people give is truly inspiring. So, jump in the Community Pool, join Facebook groups, interact with your readers. It makes all the difference.
  2. Write for yourself – Don’t write for others. If you’re like me, blogging isn’t your job, it’s something you do for fun. So have fun, and write what makes you happy!

When is your favorite time to write and why?

Hm.. I don’t think I really have a favorite time to write. I write when I have the time. Sometimes it’s in the morning with a cup of coffee, and sometimes it’s after work with a glass of wine.

Do you have any other hobbies besides writing?
Mostly just reading and doing yoga. And, if you can count it, watching Friends on a constant loop.ย I said a few years ago that I wanted to learn how to knit, but I never did; I’d still like to learn.

What is your favorite book of all time?
Easy, theย Harry Potter series. Is that cheating, picking an entire series? Too bad.

Would you rather go dancing in the cities, take a hike, or read a book at home?
Depends on the day, but either dancing or reading. I am not an outdoorsy person, so I can tell you that I would definitely not be taking a hike unless you’re making me.

Where would you go on your ultimate dream vacation?
That’s a hard question! Does it have to be a real place? If not, then definitely somewhere in the wizarding world– Hogwarts probably.

IRL, I honestly don’t know; there are so many beautiful places that I don’t think I can pick just one. I guess the ultimate dream vacation is doing it all!

If you could pick a color to represent your blog, what color would it be and why?
I guess it would be a pink-ish color because most of what I use on my site (the theme, images, etc.) have some sort of pink-ish, grey coloring to it.

What is your favorite food?
Nachos. Always.

Which post has been your most popular post since you started blogging (feel free to leave the link)?
My most popular post has beenย For Me, in which I talked about why I quit my teaching job at the end of last year. It’s not my usual upbeat, quirky writing, but it came from the heart, and it needed to be said.

However, my favorite post that I’ve written is probably my letter from my thirteen year-old self.

– – –

Now is the time I’m supposed to nominate other bloggers, but I’m not going to nominate anyone specifically. I hope that doesn’t seem ungrateful, because I am truly very grateful that these two lovely bloggers thought of me in the first place. However, these awards seem to be making the rounds among a lot of my blogging-circle, and I don’t want to be a nuisance. If you’re reading this, I think you’re amazing, so consider yourself nominated!

The official Liebster rules ask for 10 random facts about yourself, so that’s what I want from YOU! I’d love it if you shared a few random facts about yourself in the comments below!

Liebster

I’m realizing a little too late that I don’t like the coloring of this image…

10 thoughts on “Please hold your applause

  1. I love your HP responses. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’ll share a few facts about myself that I don’t think even YOU know, Becca! hehe. Okay. 1) I have a scar on the far left side of my left eyebrow from when I was 6 months old and walked right into my 6-year-old brother swinging a metal pole & needed a few stitches. Hair has never grown in that spot because of said horrific accident. 2) I have a weird habit of checking my planner whenever I sit down somewhere to make sure I don’t have anything else to do that same day. Like I’ll literally walk from one building on campus to another and check it again, as if something is gonna randomly appear on the page. It’s kind of like being addicted to your phone, except with a paper calendar. 3) Parties give me social anxiety, even though most people will tell you I’m one of the most outgoing people they’ve ever met! 4) I DESPISE slow walkers on the street who walk too slowly in front of me. 5) I really dislike the elderly, especially since I’ve been here in Spain. They seem to have worse issues here.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Slow walkers are THE WORST. I’ve just started using a paper planner again for the first time since college, I think, and I’ve become pretty dependent upon it, too– but that may be because I think it’s adorable and love to color code my different tasks and events, which I’m sure you can appreciate. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey Congratulations! I love your blog. Random Facts? Okay:
    I still pick my nose when I’m alone, but, am trying to curb that behavior.
    I secretly want to meet a guy who has a house here so I can move somewhere bigger without pissing off my sister.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Congratulations on the Blogger Awards.! I aspire to win an award, but I know I’m just not sociable/smiley/happy enough to make it a reality for quite some time. Plus I tend to splurge whatever’s on my mind onto my blog, without filter’s, most of the time it’s not something many others can relate to.
    Oh dear… random facts… umm.!..1. I’ve had over 100 stitches to date… starting with 2 in my top lip when I was 4 years old and walked into the path of a swing.! It threw me 8 feet and knocked me unconscious and the poor man pushing it thought he’d killed me. 2. I wrote off my driving instructor’s car during my 4th lesson. 3.I talk to myself all the time, I don’t answer myself, so don’t worry.! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

Thoughts? Do tell!

