NaNoWriMo Update #1

In case you missed it, I’m taking November off from my usual blogging shenanigans to finish my novel.

A little background first: I’m technically a NaNoWriMo rebel because I’m continuing work on a previously started novel (which is totally ok because 1. I am a rebel in real life, and 2. rebels are allowed and welcomed in the NaNoWriMo community– yay!), whereas, the general idea is to start from scratch– let me finish one first, guys.

When I opened my document– for the first time since August, mind you– I had a little over 39,000 words written. The average goal for NaNoWriMo is 50,000. This week, my focus has been refamiliarizing myself with and minor editing of what I already have. I’ve gotten through a little over 27,000 this week. My goal is to start adding new content by the weekend.

In my outline of the plot, I’d felt as though I was only about halfway when I left off, so I’ll probably exceed 50,000. My end goal is to write the words “The End.” And then go through and tear it apart, of course, because that’s the next stage of novel writing, right?

I’m feeling pretty good so far. I missed Emma (my main character), and as I’m going through, I’m trying to keep her voice consistent (something I felt like I’d been struggling with over the summer), and better emulate a thirteen year-old (hm, that sounds a little weird).

giphy (15)

Me this week. Enjoying it while it lasts. (Source)

Ok, well, I’m gonna go hang out with Emma some more. See you next week!

Fellow WriMos, how are you doing??

15 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Update #1

  1. I won’t lie- I started and then ended up stopping- My oldest daughter broke her wrist and I spent a few days dealing with that. I’m behind on everything around here. Not enough of me to go around- which sucks. I may try to pick it back up today. :S

    Liked by 1 person

Thoughts? Do tell!

